iOS 14 and “The file doesn’t exist”

After upgrading to iOS 14, many KeePassium users are greeted by “The file doesn’t exist” message.

No worries, your passwords are safe — it’s just the new iOS breaks KeePassium’s links to files. (And does that intentionally, for whatever reason.)

Screenshot: File doesn't exist error

The solution depends on whether you remember your database’s master password. It is different from the app protection password.

1. If you don’t remember your database password

If you don’t remember your database password, or if you are not quite sure, you would need to set a new password first:

  1. Open the Files app and navigate to your database
  2. Long-press the database → Share → scroll the icons left → More → Open in KeePassium. The database will open in KeePassium.
  3. Once inside the database, you will see four buttons at the bottom of the screen. Tap the third button from the left:
Screenshot: Change master key button is third from the left on the bottom toolbar
"Change master key" button on the bottom toolbar
4. You will see the "Change Master Key" screen. Enter a new password for the database, repeat it in the next field, and save the changes.

Now you know the password for your database. Make sure you remember it, otherwise you might get locked out of your database.

2. If you know your database password

If you know your database password, the solution is quick and simple:

  1. Open the list of databases
  2. Long-press the broken database and tap “Remove” (not “Delete”!)
    • “Remove” destroys only KeePassium’s link to the database file, but the file itself remains intact.
    • “Delete” deletes the file itself.
  3. Add your database again

The same steps need to be repeated in AutoFill. The reason is that the main KeePassium app and its AutoFill module have separate file lists (due to a technical limitation on iOS). Here are the steps:

  1. Open any app or webpage with a login form
  2. Tap “Passwords” above the keyboard — this will open the AutoFill
  3. Re-add your database as described above

After re-adding the database, you will be asked to unlock the database with its full master password.


Should you have any questions, feel free to contact us.