KeePassium 1.21 brings better accessibility, new settings, new languages and other improvements.
Thanks to the great volunteer translators, KeePassium is now available in three more languages:
Should you notice any issues, feel free to submit a better translation online. You only need to know the language and have a web browser.
If enabled, KeePassium will label its automatic backup files as “do not backup”, so the system will skip them during iTunes/iCloud backup.
This option is in app settings → Database Backup.
If enabled, KeePassium will require to unlock the app after a forced termination or device restart — even if the timeout has not passed yet.
For example, let’s assume you set App Protection timeout to 10 minutes. For some reason, you then restart your device and launch KeePassium again. If Lock on App Launch was turned off, KeePassium will open up and show your database — because the 10-minute lock timeout has not passed yet. If the Lock on App Launch option was turned on, KeePassium will prompt you to unlock the app first.
This option is in app settings → App Protection → Timeout.
This is an expert option that refines the Remember Master Key behavior. The latter allows KeePassium to remember the raw components of the master key (password, key file). After some lengthy processing, these components are converted into the actual encryption key of the database. The new option defines whether KeePassium can store that processed key as well.
This update adds support for Argon2id algorithm and .keyx file format, introduced by KeePass 2.47 in January 2021.
Whenever you open or edit a database in KeePassium, the app makes a backup copy of the file by default. This is a last-resort protection for various emergencies (such as when the user accidentally deletes their database, or if KeePassium writes an unreadable database). By default, these backup files are hidden and are deleted after 2 months.
Some users might have accidentally started using these backup files instead of their main database. This is very dangerous, because one day the temporary file will be deleted during the routine automatic cleanup.
To prevent such disasters, KeePassium will now show a warning whenever the opened database is a temporary file that might be automatically deleted soon.
If you see this warning, you need to save your temporary database to a more permanent place, as soon as possible.